State Hazard Mitigation Plans

Under the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000, all U.S. states and territories are required to prepare a hazard mitigation plan that addresses the need to reduce or eliminate the effects of natural hazards. The plans are required to be updated every three years. Once the plans are approved by FEMA, the state is eligible for an increased federal share of the disaster. Approval of an enhanced plan qualifies a state for increased federal hazard mitigation grant funds up to 20% of a declared disaster declaration.

Alaska (2013)
Alaska State Hazard Mitigation Plan

American Samoa (2015)
American Samoa Hazard Mitigation Plan 2015-2020

Arizona (2013)
Arizona State Hazard Mitigation Plan

California (2013) Enhanced Plan
California Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan

Colorado (2013)
State of Colorado Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan

Guam (2014)
2014 Guam Hazard Mitigation Plan

Hawaii (2013)
State of Hawai’i Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan Update 2013

Idaho (2013)
Idaho State Hazards Mitigation Plan

Montana (2013)
State of Montana Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan

Nevada (2013) Enhanced Plan
The State of Nevada Enhanced Hazard Mitigation Plan

New Mexico (2013)
New Mexico State Hazard Mitigation Plan

Northern Mariana Islands (N/A)

Oregon (2015)
Oregon Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan

Utah (2014)
Utah Hazard Mitigation Plan

Washington (2013) Enhanced Plan
Washington State Enhanced Mitigation Plan

Wyoming (2016)
Wyoming State Mitigation Plan 2016-2021