2016 National Awards Recipients

Awards were presented at the 2016 National Earthquake Conference on May 5, 2016, at the Hilton in Long Beach, California.

Lifetime Achievement Award
The Western States Seismic Policy Council (WSSPC) is pleased to announce the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016.

2016_LJones1Dr. Lucy Jones is recognized nationally and globally as an authority on natural hazards and disaster risk reduction. Since joining the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) in 1983, Dr. Jones has made outstanding research contributions and provided significant scientific leadership… 2016 Lucile Jones Lifetime Achievement Summary

National Awards in Excellence

2016_BRPSH_1Award Category: Educational Outreach to Business/Government
Utah Geological Survey for their “Basin and Range Province Seismic Hazards Summit III (BRPSHIII)”.
Utah Geological Survey – BRPSHIII Summary

2016_HHARP_1Award Category: Educational Outreach to the General Public
Hawaii Emergency Management Agency for their “Hawaii Hazards Awareness and Resilience Program (HHARP)”.
Hawaii Emergency Management Agency – HHARP Summary

2016_CEETEP_1Award Category: Educational Outreach to Schools
Central Washington University (CWU), Oregon State University, and the University of Portland for their “Cascadia EarthScope Earthquake and Tsunami Education Program (CEETEP)”.
Central Washington University – Cascadia EarthScope Earthquake and Tsunami Education Program

Award Category: Innovations
Oregon Public Broadcasting for their “Unprepared” year-long radio, television and online campaign.
Oregon Public Broadcasting – Unprepared Summary

Award Category: Multi-jurisdictional Planning
Indiana Department of Homeland Security for their “Indiana Building Emergency Assessment and Monitoring Team (I-BEAM)”.
Indiana Department of Homeland Security – I-BEAM Summary